Skip Navigation LinksAbout Airworthiness About Airworthiness

News update >>

  • Conducting Business with the SACAA? What you should know... Read more
  • Directions issued by the Minister of Transport, 29 January 2021 Read more
  • General Aviation Safety Strategy Publication Read more
  • SA Civil Aviation Authority statement on an SAA flight earmarked for Brussels Read more

About Airworthiness

The Department is comprised of three sections, namely Engineering Section, Aircraft Inspection and Registration Section and Aircraft Maintenance Organisations Section. Each of these sections is equipped with a wide-ranging level of expertise to discharge the required obligations.

Engineering Section

Engineering Unit

The Engineering section's primarily functions include evaluation and verification of compliance with design and production standards for the issuance of type certificates and approval of changes to the type design and production standards with approved procedure; further to this the unit reviews data for aircraft modifications, including "on site evaluations" and review of such modifications and approval of parts and appliances for use in aircraft.

The unit's inspectors and Engineers conduct surveillances and audits of organisations with design approvals, including approved organisations outside South Africa, in accordance with prescribed schedules  to ensure compliance with regulatory requirements,. Part of the function of this unit is to co-ordinate and manage the oversight of Designated Engineers and Approved Persons which may be appointed by the Authority and assist customer services with advice regarding certification. Lastly, the Engineering unit's mandate is to provide technical advice and input in the development of educational, advisory information publications related to safety standards associated with aviation certification processes.

Manufacturing Unit

The Manufacturing section primary functions includes conducting audits (new issue, renewal or amendment), surveillances to manufacturing organisations and performing  aircraft product conformance inspections. The unit is also responsible for the issuance of production certificates and export approvals. Further to this the unit  investigates production defects and carries out enforcement of production non-compliance.

Aircraft Maintenance Organisations

The function of this section is to ensure that aircraft and its components are maintained and released in accordance to South African Civil Aviation Regulations (SACAR) requirements and in accordance to acceptable international practices and standards. To ensure compliance, SACAA Aviation inspectors conduct audits and surveillances to AMOs in accordance to schedules or randomly respectively, to obtain evidence that the organisations' activities conform to their specified objectives, policies, procedures and practices, and that they conform to industry acceptable practices and standards; further to this, Airworthiness Inspectors are required to ensure that AMOs comply to the SACAA requirements with regards to safety in aviation.

Aircraft Inspection and Registration Section

Registration Unit

This Section is responsible for aircraft and mortgage registrations and change of aircraft ownership to all Type Certified (TC) aircraft, Non-Type Certified Aircraft (NTCA) and Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS).The unit is also responsible for registration of airport vehicles fitted with transponders.

Inspection Unit

The Aircraft Inspection unit is responsible for the issuance of a new Certificate of Airworthiness when an aircraft is first registered in South Africa, the re-issue of C of As following an accident or the subsequent  reinstatement of an aircraft which has been out of service for a specified period without being serviced or having its C of A renewed. The unit is also responsible for issuance and renewal of Authorities to fly (ATF) to all aircraft outside of RAASA jurisdiction.

Currency Fee Unit.

This unit is responsible for annual renewal of Type Certified Aircraft C of As and NTCA.


Click here to see Detailed Sections Key Responsibilities 

© 2017 South African Civil Aviation Authority Intellectual Property, All rights reserved.